Klostergut Paradies is situated in an idyllic location on the banks of the river Rhine between Schaffhausen and Lake Constance. The former nunnery is inextricably bound up with the history of this region and since 1918 has been the property of the Georg Fischer Corporation, one of Switzerland’s leading industrial groups.
Klostergut Paradies is more than just the meeting point of choice for employees of the Georg Fischer Corporation worldwide. The unique atmosphere of this ancient convent attracts countless other visitors too. Some 15,000 external and internal guests attend conferences and training courses here every year.
The Clarissan order laid the founding stone for its new convent in
1253. Although it had to close in the wake of the Reformation in 1529,
the convent reopened in 1578 and remained operational right up until
the dissolution of the monasteries in 1836. In 1918, the estate that
had changed hands several times since its secularization was
eventually bought by the Georg Fischer Corporation, which also bought
all 50 hectares of convent lands with a view to providing its
employees with both food and housing.
To mark its 150th anniversary, Georg Fischer decided to restore the convent and in 1948 founded the Iron Library as a foundation of the Georg Fischer Corporation. The Iron Library is located in the west wing of the convent and is open to the public.
Georg Fischer opened its Corporate Training Center at Klostergut Paradies in 1974 and enlarged the estate yet again by purchasing the Gasthaus Paradies that same year.